Skip to main content

Undergraduate Program in Psychology

The psychology department offers serveral academic and research opportunities for students. These include a bachelor of arts (BA) major, bachelor of science (BS) major, and a minor. Students planning to pursue a career in which a background in psychology is useful, such as business, communications, or social services, will find the BA degree to be an appropriate track. Students interested in pursuing professional or research careers in psychology are encouraged to consult with their academic advisor for advice on whether the BA or BS degree is most appropriate to meet their long-term goals.

Advising

Undergraduate advising offices are located on the fifth floor of Huntington Hall rooms 523, 524, and 525. Staff are available to assist with routine advising matters, including information about the psychology curriculum, how to declare a psychology major and help with adding or dropping classes. Questions can be emailed to the team here: psyadvising@syr.edu

IF YOUR FACULTY ADVISOR IS LISTED BELOW, YOU MUST CONTACT THEM DIRECTLY TO SCHEDULE YOUR ADVISING APPOINTMENT:

Dr. Kevin Antshel - kmantshe@syr.edu

Dr. Catherine Cornwell - cacornwe@syr.edu

Dr. Joseph Ditre - jwditre@syr.edu

Dr. Les Gellis - lagellis@syr.edu

Dr. Randy Jorgensen - rsjorgen@syr.edu

Dr. Stephen Maisto - samaisto@syr.edu

Dr. Brian Martens - bkmarten@syr.edu

Dr. Leonard Newman - lsnewman@syr.edu

Dr. Natalie Russo - nrusso@syr.edu

Dr. Bradley Seymour - bseymour@syr.edu

Dr. Laura VanderDrift - lvanderd@syr.edu

IF YOUR ADVISOR IS NOT LISTED ABOVE, CLICK THIS LINK TO SCHEDULE AN ADVISING APPOINTMENT: https://SUPSYadvising.as.me/

The Advising Office is open Monday through Friday, 9:00am - 4:30 pm

Reasons to drop-in include:

  • Review degree progress
  • Pre-registration/course selection questions
  • Discuss Major curriculum
  • Obtain signature on minor applications
  • Drop off signed BS Sponsor forms

If it becomes evident that you have more extensive questions or issues than you realized, you may be asked to schedule an appointment.

Most graduate school and internship/career questions are best addressed during a scheduled appointment with your faculty advisor.